The University Council
The University Council is an entity which takes care of the University’s overall development and its interaction with the society it resides in. In addition, it discusses and confirms strategic decisions of the Senate. The Council supervises that the University’s goals and objectives are implemented, especially the legality of its work, the rational use of human and material resources and implementation of the Senate’s decisions. The University Council has 12 members: 6 members are appointed by the Senate (5 from among university researchers or professors, 1 from among the students), 2 members are appointed by the Ministry of Science, Education and Sports), 2 members are appointed by the Croatian Chamber of Economy, and the remaining 2 are appointed by the local self-government where the University has its headquarters.


Mr. Ivo Usmiani, Jadran - galenski laboratorij - JGL Inc.


1.    Full Professor Maja Biljan August, Ph.D., Faculty of Economics

2.    Mr. Luka Burilović, Croatian Chamber of Economy

3.    Msgr. Prof. Ivan Devčić, Ph.D. – Archdiocese of Rijeka

4.    Mr. Ante Jurjević, student

5.    Mr. Zlatko Komadina, Prefect of Primorsko - goranska County

6.    Associate Professor Miranda Mladinić Pejatović, Department of Biotechnology

7.    Mr. Vojko Obersnel, M.Sc. – City of Rijeka Mayor

8.    Mr. Mladen Pejković –  Atlantic Grupa Ltd.

9.    Full Professor Goran Turkalj, Ph.D., Faculty of Engineering

10.  Full Professor Miljenko Uravić, M.D., Ph.D., Faculty of Medicine

11.  Full Professor Silvana Vranić, Ph.D., Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences